All You Need is Love

Okay, now you have that Beatles tune running thru your head. Right?

Valentine’s Day is just around the corner and I am keeping with my tradition of offering a heart pattern as a Valentine to my readers.

In 2010 it was my Little Heart.

In 2011 it was my Spiral in a Heart.

So for 2012 I offer the Simple Sweetheart pattern.  This fun little heart takes just a bit of yarn and a few minutes to stitch up.

Simple Sweetheart  designed by Andee Graves

Start with an Adjustable Slip Knot (this is a slip knot that is tightened by pulling on the beginning tail instead of the working yarn).

SwthrtChart wCnotice

Round 1: Chain 2, 7 sc in 2nd chain from hook, sl st to first sc of round.

Needle Join at end of Round 2

Round 2: Skip 1 st, 5 dc in next st, dc next st, dc next st, ch 1 and sl st in top of previous dc, dc in same st, dc in next st, 5 dc in next st, sk 1 st, sl st in first st (or use a needle join into sl st). Fasten off.

Your little Sweetheart can now be used to decorate a card, or become a pin or magnet.  I used the tails of mine to sew pin-backs on them to make brooches.

Happy Valentine’s Day!

9 thoughts on “All You Need is Love

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.