Feeling the Love

I always think of February as the month of love, so it is fitting to celebrate my latest pattern release from M2H Designs.  The Luv Bug.

It is available thru my Ravelry Shop. My inspiration for the name for these cute little bugs are my adorable kids.  I call them my Love Bugs or Cuddle Bugs on a regular basis, so creating a cuddly Luv Bug toy was a logical step.

These bugs are great fun to make.  A bit of instant gratification as they require very little yarn and minimal sewing.  Each bug is made up of 4 separate crocheted pieces, with the stitch work creating the nose, antenna and feet.  Sizing of the bugs depends on the thickness of yarn you use.

With Valentines Day just around the corner someone on your list might enjoy having their own Luv Bug to cuddle.

It’s amazing how quickly a year has gone by.  Last year for Valentines Day I offered a little heart pattern here on my blog,  I thought it would be fun to do that again. So here is a new heart…..

SPIRAL IN A HEART

by Andee Graves

Note: All rounds are worked spirally without joining.  Use a stitch marker in the last stitch of the round and move it up as each round is completed. US Crochet terminology used throughout.

Yarns: Caron International Dazzleaire for Heart, Caron International Simply Soft for Spiral.

Hook: I-9 / 5.5 mm & H-8 / 5 mm

Gauge: Finished heart measures 2.5 x 2.5 inches. Gauge will vary depending on yarn and hook size chosen.

Rnd 1: Ch 2, 7 sc in 2nd ch from hook.

Rnd 2: 2 sc in next 7 sts. [14 sc]

Rnd 3: sc in next st, 2 sc in next st, hdc and dc in next st, 5 dc in next st, sk next st, sl st next st, sk next st, 5 dc in next st, dc and hdc next st, hdc and sc next st, sc next 2 sts, 2 hdc next st, fasten off. [6 sc, 5 hdc, 12 dc]

Spiral: Holding working yarn behind heart and smaller hook at front, pull up a loop thru the center of the heart, work surface sl sts at base of each st of Rounds 2 and 3. Fasten off and weave in ends.

Happy Valentines Day

13 thoughts on “Feeling the Love

  1. Thank you for these delightful patterns. Most of the US is under a HUGE snowstorm so I plan on snuggling in with my hooks and scraps and making love! BUGS, that is!

  2. Thank you for your beautiful pattern, I’m going to get your lovebugs too, even though I don’t have time to send them scurrying along to loved ones this valentines day, I may surprise them in a month without a holiday like august 😀

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.